top of page
Green Geometric Shapes_edited.jpg
  • Writer's pictureBUR

Berlin and its districts

Berlin is a large city with numerous districts that differ in their architecture, culture and economic development. In this blog post, I would like to give a brief overview of the different districts in Berlin and discuss the distribution of purchasing power in the city.

The city of Berlin is divided into 12 districts, which differ from each other in their structures and character. The Mitte district, the historic centre of Berlin, is home to famous landmarks such as the Brandenburg Gate and the Reichstag building. The district is also known for its diverse art scene and its numerous museums. The district of Charlottenburg-Wilmersdorf is an affluent district with many shopping streets and expensive flats. The district of Prenzlauer Berg, on the other hand, is known for its alternative art galleries and its many green spaces.

In terms of purchasing power distribution, there are clear differences between the various districts in Berlin. According to a study by the Institute of the German Economy (IW) from 2020, purchasing power is significantly higher in districts such as Mitte, Charlottenburg-Wilmersdorf and Steglitz-Zehlendorf compared to other districts. In districts such as Neukölln and Marzahn-Hellersdorf, on the other hand, purchasing power is significantly lower. These differences in purchasing power are also reflected in the economic development of the individual districts.

Overall, it can be seen that although purchasing power in Berlin is relatively high compared to other German cities as a whole, there are clear differences between the individual districts. These differences are also reflected in the lifestyles of people in the various districts.


bottom of page